Citizen Reporting NationJ&K UTMain TrendingNational PoliticsNewsTrending Photo

J&K will have no representative in Rajya Sabha for 3rd time in past 7 decades

Erstwhile State’s first RS members in 1952 were nominated on recommendation of constituent Assembly

Srinagar, February 09, 2021: For the third time in the past seven decades, Jammu & Kashmir would be without any representatives in Rajya Sabha from February 15 onwards as all four incumbent members from the Union Territory in the House are completing their term in next six days.

Details collected by news agency—Kashmir News Observer (KNO) reveal that similar situation had also arisen twice since 1952.

According to details, all four RS berths of J&K remained vacant for a period of more than two years between 1994 to 1996 due to absence of Assembly in the erstwhile state of Jammu & Kashmir.

From April 2, 1994 when Ghulam Rasool Matto completed his term, J&K was without representation in the House till November 1996 when four vacancies were filled.

Ghulam Nabi Azad, Sharifuddin Shariq, Saifuddin Soz and Karan Singh were elected as RS members in 1996 when state elections were held after a gap of six years due to militancy.

The erstwhile state’s four RS seats also remained vacant for a brief period in 2008 when J&K came under Governor Rule after PDP withdrew support to Ghulam Nabi Azad-led government.

As already reported by KNO, all incumbent RS members from J&K will complete their six-year terms between February 10-15.

While the terms of Mir Muhammad Fayaz and Shamsher Singh Manhas will end on February 10, Ghulam Nabi Azad and Nazir Ahmad Laway will complete their tenure on February 15.

It is worthwhile to mention that J&K has been sending its representatives in Rajya Sabha from 1952 when President of India nominated members from J&K on recommendation of the constituent Assembly.

Till 1967, even Lok Sabha members from J&K were nominated on recommendation of the State government—(KNO)

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button