Citizen ReportingMain TrendingNewsTrending Photo

Government asks for Indian citizenship from minority communities in five states

Jammu, May 29, 2021: The Ministry of Home Affairs on Friday has asked migrant minorities from Afghanistan, Pakistan and Bangladesh residing in 13 districts of Gujarat, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Haryana and Punjab to apply for citizenship of India.

The Home Ministry has given these migrants the right to grant Indian citizenship to the Home Secretaries of Punjab, Haryana. Apart from this, DM has also been given this right in Gujarat, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Haryana and Punjab.

The notification issued on Friday is under section 16 of the Citizenship Act 1955, which enables the central government to delegate any power (other than sections 10 and 18) to an officer or authority.

Under Section 16 of the Citizenship Act, 1955, the government has given them the right to grant citizenship. Under section five of the same Act, the Central Government orders registration for citizenship of India.

Under this, all non-Muslim minorities from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Afghanistan will get citizenship. (PTK)

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button