Feature StoriesJ&K UTNewsSports

Two days of sporting events, thousands of athletes and volunteers, countless displays of bravery, and thousands of smiles.

Jammu, February 21, 2021: As the final curtain falls on Vishal Memorial JKTA Foundation-Cup 2021 held simultaneously all over 20 Districts of J&K-UT in the memory of Late Shri. Vishal Sharma (Father/Founder of Taekwondo in J&K), the athletes, coaches, families and fans came together to not only celebrate successes on the venue, but to also look forward to exciting future achievements. District Jammu the prime host of this Mega Charitable event recorded 600 participation over the closing day.

Officials and dignitaries SMT. Bhavna Sharma (W/O Late Shri Vishal Sharma) declared as Chief Guest joined by Shri. SM Bali( VP India Taekwondo/ Sr. VP JKTA), Shri. Ambedhkar Gupta (Former Sec General KAI), Shri. Nadir Khan (Deputy Sec, I&FC), Shri Rouf Ahmad ( President JKCSNGEU), Deepak Handa ( Owner Tiny Tots Group of Schools) as Guest of Honors. While as Shri. Ramesh Chander Sharma (Joint Sec, JKTA), Shri. Subhash Shashtri (President MNC), Shri B.S. Jamwal (Retd, DC), Shri. C M Seth (Retd. CPCB), Shri. Jehangir Mir (PA to Sec. JKSC), Irfan Khan (Executive Engineer, JKSC), Shri Abid Khan, Shri. H.K Pangotra (Retd, AEE), Shri Jagjit Singh (Gen Sec, JKTA) and Shri Anuj Sharma (Org.Sec, JKTA) joined as Special Guests.

The Iconic MA Stadium, which hosted the Closing Ceremony of the Vishal Memorial Jkta Foundation Cup-2021, witnessed athletes from Slums, Orphanage and Migrant Colonies taking part in an inspirational two days based Championship. Athletes from the 20 Clubs, alongside 15 Zones showcased their skills during the entire Championship.

A special place at the heart of the Closing Ceremony was reserved for the scores of organizing committee whose commitment and unwavering dedication ensured the largest Combat sports and humanitarian event of the year a success.

The Declaration of Closing saw the Flame of Hope among all the kids who aspire to represent the UT and Country at National and International level.

The Closing Ceremony came to an end with an amazing performance of ‘Taekwondo Fight, between the Clubs.

Vishal Memorial JKTA Foundation Cup-2021 was one of the largest, most inclusive, most unified, most diverse and most successful TAEKWONDO Championship in the history of J&K-UT.

Each of these wonderful achievements and so much more were celebrated in a huge outpouring of happiness from the thousands of displays of joy and emotion from every athlete, coach and spectator across the whole J&K-UT.

The Technical Team , who displayed the fairplay decisions throughout the Championship was led by Atul Pangotra (International Referee,WT/ Referee committee Member, IT) along with Brinder Singh, aarvind Satti, Anchal Sharma, Rashmi Abrol, Narinder Sharma, , Shanaz Parveen, Kushagra Sharma,Achutam Dev Singh, Rahul Sharma, Bhanu Pratap Attri, Amit, Sunil Vaid, Nitish Anand, Rohit Sharma, Burhan Khan, Arsalan Ahmad.

Enclosing the details from all 20 Districts:

1.       District Srinagar : Total Participation: 200 (Venue: Gindun Stadium)

Chief Guest: Dronacharya Awardee, Shri. Kuldeep Handoo

2.       District Baramulla: Total Participation: 180 (Venue: Rehma-e-Alam School)                      

Chief Guest: Adv Neelofar Masood (President, Bta)

3.       District Udhampur: Total Partcipation: 150 (Venue: Town Hall)                        

Chief Guest: Rakesh Chander Bodi (DDC Member)

4.       District Poonch: Total Participation: 350 (Venue: Indoor Hall, Sports Stadium)                     

Chief Guest: Ex. MLC , Pradeep Sharma.

5.       District Budgam: Total Participation: 150 (Venue: Gindun Stadium)

Chief Guest: Dronacharya Awardee, Shri. Kuldeep Handoo

6.       District Banihal: Total Participation: 117 (Venue: Masroor Complex)                     

Chief Guest: BDO Banihal, Bashir-ul- Hassan.

7.       District Pulwama: Total Participation: 150 (Venue: Gindun Stadium)

Chief Guest: Dronacharya Awardee, Shri. Kuldeep Handoo

8.       District Samba: Total Partcipation: 350 (Venue: Humanity PS Baribrahma Samba)

Chief Guest:

9.       District Bandipore: Total Participation: 150 (Venue: Hr. Sec School  Sumbal Bandipore)

Chief Guest: Faisal Ali Dar (President, DBTA)

10.     District Doda: Total Participation: 300 (Venue: Shield Taekwondo Academy)

Chief Guest: Tariq Hussain (President, DDTA)

11.     District Rajouri: Total Participation: 200 (Venue:  National Academy Dhanore)                     


12.     District Kathua:  Total Participation: 250 (Venue: Amarjoti High School)

Chief Guest : Rahul Dev (Councilor)


Rest the Districts like Kupwara, Shopian, Kulgam, Reasi, Kishtwar, Anantnag, Ganderbal, had an active participation of 700 athletes.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button