Feature StoriesJ&K UTJammuNewsRajori-PoonchState Politics

Restore Statehood to J&K before holding Assembly Elections: Ch. Zulfikar Ali

RAJOURI, September 06, 2021:  Apni Party Vice President and former Education Minister Choudhary Zulfikar Ali has demanded early restoration of Statehood to Jammu and Kashmir.

Addressing a meeting of party workers at Rajouri, the Former Cabinet Minister said that the holding Assembly Elections in Union Territory shall be meaningless before restoration of Statehood to the erstwhile State of Jammu and Kashmir.

“Three tier Panchayati Raj system cannot be the substitute of the duly elected Govt. as all these institutions are toothless bodies and they are unable to deliver as per the expectation of the people,” he said.

He further said that all the developmental activities are standing still and still await completion till today.

“The pace of development is going at snail pace and it has added to the suffering of the people,” he said.

He said that “The bureaucratic setup has not been able to continue the developmental process and hence, it has hampered the speed of infrastructural development in absence of any accountability.”

He said that the failure of the authorities can be gauged from the fact that the basic amenities are not even available in some of the areas.

As the sufferings have increased under the bureaucratic control, he said the Govt should take a decision and hold assembly elections.

However, these elections would be meaningless if the Statehood is not restored before the elections, he added.

He further said that most of the developmental projects viz Anas Irrigation project, Govt Degree college Koteranka, Koteranka Khawas Road, and many other developmental projects are either incomplete or not started yet, besides various tourism projects in the area are at standstill. Prominent among those who spoke Syed Manzoor Hussain Shah, Fazal Hussain Chouan, Munshi Alam Din, Wazir Singh, Balwant Singh, Sofi Alam Din, ch Mir Hussain, Shabir Ahmed, Alam Hussain, Anwar Hussain, Neeraj Sharma, Gul Mohd, Khajoor Singh, Abdul Aziz, Mohd Aslam, Parshotam Singh and others.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button