Citizen ReportingFeature StoriesNews

NC is people’s choice for J&K : Rana

Mathwar, January 24, 2021 : Emphasising that the premier role of National Conference in any political set-up in Jammu and Kashmir cannot be wished away, Provincial President Mr Devender Singh Rana today said the recent elections to the District Development Boards have sent out this message, very loud and clear.

“Whenever any credible authentic democratic process will be held, the results will stamp the people’s choice for National Conference”, Mr Rana said while addressing a public meeting at Agore in Block Mathwar this afternoon.

On this occasion, a large number of the BJP workers including Suresh Sharma and Devender Singh Jamwal, Block Vice President BJP Mathwar also joined the National Conference.

The public meeting was also addressed by Som Nath Khajuria, Vice President J&K National Conference, Jammu province, DDC Councillor Dansal Shameem Begum, BDC Chairperson Mathwar Sharifa Begum, BDC Chairperson Dansal Reena Thappa and BDC Chairman Nagrota Ch Rehmat Ali.

The Provincial President lauded the political sagacity of the people in lending their wholehearted support in the just concluded elections to the District Development Councils to the National Conference across Jammu and Kashmir, which is amply reflected by the striking rate in both the divisions. He said a clear message has gone out that the next government in Jammu and Kashmir will be formed by the National Conference. This has unnerved all those who had written off the party because of their little political understanding and lack of connect with the people, he added.

Mr Rana said the elections to the grassroots level democratic institutions have also exposed the BJP’s fragility with its sitting MP, State President and two former ministers being rejected by the electorate in  their home turf. Such is the credibility deficit in the party that its leaders have been seeking votes, even for panchayats and DDCs, in the name of Prime Minister Narendra Modi as their individual performances have been dismal. They failed on all fronts in deliverance during the past six years. The development and employment generation received a huge dent. The BJP also left the daily rated workers in lurch and promises about packages proved hoax, he said.

He described the recent vote to the National Conference as support to its politics of inclusiveness. The people have vehemently rejected the politics of divide, which they feel is detrimental to harmonious growth of a healthy society. He said the best part of democracy is people reposing trust and giving mandate to political parties with the hope of their welfare and development and at the same time punishing them too if they fail to deliver.

“The National Conference believes in service to the people, irrespective of caste, creed or religion, as they were the real fountainhead of the power. Unmindful of achieving the power, the party cadre has all along dedicated itself to the overall public good in all the regions and sub-regions of Jammu and Kashmir and it will continue to do so in future as well with renewed vigour and commitment”, the Provincial President added.

Referring to local issues, Mr Devender Rana called for expeditious and time-bound completion of various development projects and implementation of various welfare schemes. He also stressed the need for institutional transparency and responsibility towards people, saying that the government institutions including police were custodians of public interest.

“We hope that the administration, particularly the police will work independently without interference by vested interests”, he maintained.

Prominent among those present included Sarpanch Sanjeev Singh, Sarpanch Ashwani Kumar, Sarpanch Nakshatar Singh, Sarpanch Sain Khan, Sarpanch Naseem Fatimah, Sarpanch Neelam Devi, Sarpanch Sanjeev Singh, Sarpanch Sohan Singh, Ex Sarpanch Peter Singh, Anwar Khan, Sudershan Singh, Balbir Singh, Mumtaz besides Kuldeep Singh Retd ZEO, Rekha Langeh, Kabla Singh, Tejpal Singh, Dayal Singh (Lucky) and others.

The BJP workers who joined the National Conference included, Deepak Sharma, Hans Raj, Deepak Sharma, Romi Sharma, Mohinder Kumar, Jagdish Raj, Monu Sharma, Sohan Lal, Balwant Raj, sohan Lal, Ram Krishan, Raj  Kumar, Chuni Lal, Sewa Ram, Pawan Kumar Mangota, Mohan Lal, Yashpaul, Pawan Kumar,  Raj Kumar Bhagat, Wakilu Ram, Ram Ditta Mistri, Romesh Sharma, Kunj Lal, Som Dutt, Sohan Lal Sharma,  Om Parkash Sharma, Prem Chand Ghai, Sham Lal Mistri, Darshan Kumar, Nanak Chand Mistri, Nanak Chand, Gulam Mustafa Foji, Shokat Ali, Sharafat Ali, Romi Sharma, Manu Sharama, Majeed Ahmed, Sarvar Khan,      Qadir Khan, Satish Sharma, Prem Chand, Kuldeep Verma, Rashim Singh, Satish Sharma, Romesh Sharama, Prem Chand, Kuldeep Verma and Rashim Singh.

The Provincial President welcomed the new entrants into the National Conference and hoped that with their joining the party will be further strengthened at the grassroots level.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button