Citizen Reporting JKLLegalMain TrendingNewsTrending Photo

J&K delimitation based on 2011 census:  Law Ministry

Srinagar, January 13, 2021:  Ministry of Law and Justice in its annual review report has revealed that the delimitation in Jammu and Kashmir would be done on basis of the 2011-census figures under the provisions of 2019-Act.

On 5 August 2019, the erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir was bifurcated into two separate union territories- Jammu Kashmir and Ladakh.

In the Re-organisation Act, it was revealed that the Union territory of Jammu and Kashmir will have a legislative assembly while the Ladakh UT will be without a legislative assembly.

About the delimitation of constituencies in UT of Jammu and Kashmir, the Law and Justice Ministry in its year-end review has said that in March last year (06-March-2020) constituted a Delimitation Commission for delimitation of assembly and parliament constituencies across Jammu and Kashmir.

Unlike Jammu and Kashmir, the cold desert Ladakh in the absence of a legislative assembly enjoys the power of an autonomous hill development council.

Twin districts in Ladakh UT including Kargil and Leh have Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC) headed by Chief Executive Councilor (CEC).

The Ministry in the annual report said that “After the enactment of Jammu and Kashmir (Reorganisation) Act, 2019 the erstwhile State of Jammu and Kashmir has been bifurcated into two Union territories, viz. Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir with legislative assembly and the Union Territory of Ladakh without legislative assembly.

“In terms of special provision as contemplated in Section 62 of said 2019-Act the readjustment of the constituencies in the successor Union territory of Jammu and Kashmir into assembly constituencies shall be carried out on the basis of 2011-census figures by a Delimitation Commission to be constituted under the provisions of Delimitation Act, 2002 as amended by said 2019-Act”, the report said.

The report said that in pursuance of the mandate as contained in said 2019-Act and in accordance with the provisions of Section 3 of Delimitation Act, 2002 the central government has constituted a Delimitation Commission vide notification published in the Gazette of India on 6 March 2020 for the purpose of delimitation of assembly and parliamentary constituencies in the Union territory of Jammu and Kashmir and the States of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, and Nagaland.

About the women empowerment and demand for reservation of seats for Women, it said that “there has been a consistent demand for giving adequate representation to women in parliament and state legislatures.”

It said that gender justice is an important commitment of the government and the issue involved, however, needs careful consideration on the basis of the consensus among all political parties before taking any legislative action for amending the constitution to make appropriate provisions.

While highlighting the important tasks undertaken by the Law and Justice ministry it said that “During the period from 1st January 2020 to November 2020 the department has examined 41 legislative proposals.  During this period, 40 bills were sent to the parliament for introduction.”

“Out of the Bills which were already pending before parliament and those introduced during the period from 01/01/2020 to 01/11/2020, 40 Bills including one Constitutional Amendment Act, 2020 have been enacted into Acts,” the report said.

“14 ordinances have been promulgated by the President under article 123 of the Constitution,” the report said—(KNO)

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button