Citizen ReportingEducationJammuNews

AICTE’s Decision welcomed by Colleges & Students of Entire Country

Now Commerce students will also Pursue engineering, PUCA welcomes AICTE decision

Jammu, March 14, 2021: The students & colleges of entire country have welcomed the decision of  All India Council of Technical Education, New Delhi (AICTE) which will set up new benchmark of technical education. As per new decision, Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics (PCM) are no longer compulsory for students aspiring to pursue an engineering degree in certain courses.

By changing the eligibility criteria for admission to the four-year B.Tech and B.E. programs, AICTE has opened the new doors for the engineering aspirants of entire country. After 70 years of establishment of AICTE, this is the first time when without PCM, the students studying other technical courses including Chemistry, Biotechnology, Biology, Computer Science, Information Technology, Informatics Practices, Agriculture, Engineering Graphics, Business Studies, and technical vocational subjects  in 12th could do professional engineering courses.

While welcoming this initiative & thanking AICTE, Dr. Anshu kataria, President, Punjab Unaided Colleges Association (PUCA) & Chairman, Aryans Group of Colleges in a meeting held today said that the above decision has been taken in line with the New Education Policy 2020 & will enhance accessibility of technical education to students coming from diverse background. With a view to facilitate the aspirations of various students, AICTE has opened the boundaries & a window of opportunity to those students who have the aptitude, thought process as well as the background knowledge in certain branches of engineering and technology but were constrained to pursue the higher studies due to stringent compulsions of subjects, he said.

Mr. Amit Sharma, Senior Vice President, PUCA said that the decision taken by AICTE is in line with the current international standards of education. This will not only make Indian education to stand in the league of other countries with the flexible eligibilities to pursue higher education but will also help the aspirants to  choose multiple career options along with some credit transfer programs, he added.

Entire education fraternity is thankful to Chairman, AICTE, Dr. Anil D Sahasrabudhe; Vice Chairman, AICTE, Dr. M.P Poonia &  Member Secretary, AICTE, Professor Rajive Kumar for their farsightedness for taking such bold decision.

It is to mention that multiple entries have always been there in Diploma and Under Graduate levels of Engineering and Technology through Lateral Entry.  A 10th pass student  without opting PCM  can take admission in ITI & further  direct admission in second year of Diploma, similarly, a Diploma passed student can take admission in second year of Under Graduate course in Engineering and Technology, but now after announcement of futuristic policy by AICTE, the students studying various technical courses in 12th would also be eligible.

PUCA members including Mr. Anil Chopra, St. Soldier Group, Jalandhar; Mr. Rashpal S. Dhaliwal, Chandigarh Group of College, Jhanjheri ; S. Gurlabh S. Sidhu, Guru Kashi University, Bathinda; S. Gurvinder S. Bahra, Bahra University, Kharar; Mr. Gurdeep Singh, GNA Group, Phagwara; S. Gurkirat Singh, Gulzar Group, Ludhiana; Sh. Ashwani Garg, Sh. Ashok Garg, SVIET, Banur; Dr. Akashdeep Singh, Global Institute, Amritsar; S. Charanjit Singh Channi, CT Group, Jalandhar; Dr. Guninderjit Jwanda, Bhai Gurdas, Jalandhar; Sh. Raman Bhalla, Aman Bhalla Institute of Engg & Tech., Pathankot; Sh. Prem Gandhi, KC Group, Nawanshahr; Mr. Mohit Mahajan, Golden Group, Gurdaspur; Mr. Rajesh Garg, Bharat Group, Mansa; Dr. Gursimranjit Singh, Sukhjindra Group, Gurdaspur; Mr. Parveen Garg, ISF College of Pharmacy, Moga; S. Davinder Singh Rimpy, Desh Bhagat, Moga; Mr. Rajeev Gulati, LGC, Ludhiana; Mr. Vijay Gupta, LCET, Ludhiana; Mr. Nalini Chopra, Kay Jay Group, Patialal; Mr. Shivom Vashisht, FCET, Ferozpur; Dr. DJ. Singh, Vidya Jyoti Eduversity, Chandigarh; Mr. Kanwar Tushar Punj, SSGI, Bungal; Mr. Naveen Dhillon, RIET, Phagwara; Mr. Vibhav Mittal, Dolphin PG College, Moga; Er. V.S. Pannu, Pannu Group, Gurdaspur; Mrs. Kuljinder Brar, Alpine College, Moga; Mr. Monty Garg, KCT College, Fatehgarh;  Mr. Naveen Singla, GIMT, Budhlada were present.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button